My 1st Guest Blogger, Introducing, Jacob2R! (Sunday, Part 2)


Yesterday’s post was all about our trip to the pumpkin patch, and though I am known to be quite verbose, I thought I did a great job limiting my words and still telling the story without writing an actual book… However, I still needed to finish my recap on the rest of the day, and so today you get a whole new blog dedicated to the second half of yesterday. (Sorry if that’s cheating…)

So, we left the pumpkin patch in effort to get to a birthday party. And by “we”, I pretty much mean Jake. Jake was invited to his friend Cameron’s birthday party. Cameron is a cool kiddo that goes to Jake’s school, but is also on his soccer team. The party was at Player’s Choice, which happens to be the same building I play roller derby in, so I was excited because I knew the kids would have a great time running around in all that open space where our sport court normally goes. (I was jealous, however, because we cancelled a bout planned for this weekend, and so Jake got to spend more time at my Foxz den than I did….)

Jake had requested a Packer Jersey (Favre, actually, though I talked him into Rodgers instead… see previous blog… https://sunmoonbrothers.wordpress.com/2010/09/29/you-want-to-be-what-for-halloween/ ). Today was the day I was glad I caved on my “No NFL shirts other than Lions” rule. When we arrived at the party, all I heard was, “JAKE is here! (And there was much rejoicing, which made me feel kind of bad, because though I was on time, apparently arriving early is the way to go with these kids…) On the soccer field, where I normally set up our derby sport court (the Lovely Laverne) I saw about 12 kids, 4 of whom were wearing Rodgers jerseys, 3 others wearing other random Packers, 3 random Packer fan T-shirts and a Bears jersey. Jake had been correct, all kids in this state wear green and gold on game day, unless their Bears fans. (Poor kid. A Bears fan in Cheeseland is much worse than a Lion, because Bears are apparently more threatening. You don’t even want to know what the state nickname for Illinois residents is…)

I have a lot more that I’d like to continue on about, including how Benjamin was a little bummed that he couldn’t hang out with his brother, and made a very sad comment, like, “I wish I were you and you were me, Jacob.” But, that will have to wait for tomorrow’s blog. After Jacob read yesterday’s blog, he decided that he wanted a blog to express how his favorite part of the day went. So, I decided to allow him a guest spot on my blog. If it goes well, we’ll start looking into forming a blog of his own. So, below are Jake’s words. Enjoy!!!

(Mom’s typing, Jake’s dictating…) At our party we played dodge ball, football and soccer ball. And for dodge ball, my team won the dodge ball game. With soccer, there was no rules. Rules weren’t important; that’s what was fun about it. Football was kind of fun, because we didn’t get to play it long. It would’ve been more fun if we could’ve played longer.

We have seen a lot of Spongebob stuff. We found a Spongebob bag and a Spongebob cake. There was Spongebob treats in my Spongebob bag. The cake had Jellyfish on it. It was chocolate AND white cake. It tasted pretty good.

Once we were going inside to have the cake, and Keegan started an “under table” club. Keegan went under the table, and after he came back up, everybody else went under. We were just running around playing under the table.

After cake, Cameron opened presents. Mine was the best present. I got Cameron a laser tag kit and a toy (MOM SAYS NERF) gun. It was the best present because Cameron liked it the most. Everybody asked me if they could have laser tag for their birthday. I said they could get it for Christmas, or get it at Fleet Farm.

My favorite part of the day was playing dodge ball.

 

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Jake, School, soccer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My 1st Guest Blogger, Introducing, Jacob2R! (Sunday, Part 2)

  1. Denise says:

    What is the state nickname for Illinois residents? I’d be curious. Patrick, of course, is from Chicago and loves the Bears but his step-dad is from WI and cheers for the Packers.

  2. urbangrizzly says:

    Nice story! Tough to beat Spongebob cake. As for Illinois folks, I always found that pronouncing the “s” tends to drive them a bit nuts.

  3. Pingback: How Jake Makes My Day | The Sun and the Moon Brothers

Leave a Reply

