Just Bust a Move! (Or a hip…)


My family had the great fortune of being invited to our friend Kayler’s birthday party today. First of all, it was at SKATE CITY!!! (In my opinion, Skate City hosts the finest floor in all of the Fox Valley to skate on, AND the owners are great people so you are assured good service.) Second, (more important than the first point, but somehow I wasn’t thinking chronologically) Kayler (actually, Makayla) is about the coolest newly 11 year old I know. Third, Kayler’s mom (Jeannette) happens to be one of my very best friends, and is well acquainted with my kiddos, so this was a family affair. (Except that Ryan had to work, so he couldn’t go…) Finally, OMG we (BEN) love(s) birthday parties! (or any other event with cake) and being that Jake went to a birthday party last weekend and has yet another one to go to tomorrow, it was nice to let Ben in on the fun for once.

Now, Kayler and Jeannette are always about the best hostesses that you could imagine. I wish I had any of their party planning potential. (I noticed this first hand when Jeannette came to my house for the first time, to celebrate Jake’s first birthday. She was kind enough to coordinate everything for me as we went, since I was clueless, and she was a great help considering that I had about 20 relatives over from out of state.) They are always kind enough to invite my boys along to Kayler’s parties, and though Kayler has many girlfriends there also, they are sure to make the boys feel included. I really appreciate their friendship because of things like this. Today was no exception. The boys had a great time.

I was a little nervous about the whole skating idea, as Ryan was working and I knew I was going to have my hands full with both boys, who are less than skate savvy. Now, I can skate a little bit, I suppose… (considering that I have been doing crossovers since I was five years old and I practice roller derby 2-3 times each week) but that doesn’t necessarily make the job of dragging the kids on skates sound appealing. And yet, for the reasons listed in the first paragraph of this blog, I could not resist going to this party. And, I’m glad I went. Mostly, because I had a great time. (Who knew 11 year olds could be so cool???) However, I can’t deny the added bonus of great blogging material. Watching my boys bust a move on skates exemplified the very reason I named my blog as I did; The boys could not have been more different in their approach to tackling all 8 wheels.

Jake, as always, took things slow and steady. He carefully stepped on the floor, and begged me to stay close and aid him until he was confident that he could glide on his own. He was terrified to fall, to be watched, and to be photographed. His skating looked a little something like this:

Ben, on the other hand, was a bit like a bull in a china shop. I would try to get him to consider holding my hand, and he refused. He also refused to try to glide. He insisted on running on his skates.  At one point (sadly, when I had left the camera at the table) I found him jumping, with BOTH FEET (derby girls will absolutely understand why this astounds me) up onto the raised skating floor and back down. He said it was too much work to skate uphill, so he would just jump. And, despite landing on his rump a time or two, he still thought that was great fun. I finally had to stop him because he was becoming a hazard to the people around him. Now, to be fair, I did have the owner tighten Ben’s wheel so he had limited glide, unlike Jake’s, but he could still get pretty slick. By the time I had helped Jake onto the floor and recorded the video you just watched, Ben was already a mile ahead of me. Here’s an idea of what Ben looked like out there:

Or this…

All in all, the party was a great time for us, which is impressive, considering I have TWO BOYS that are under age ten, and Kayler was a GIRL with a lot of GIRLS over the age of ten. Thanks for the invite, Makayla, and Happy Birthday.

The Lovely Kayler

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Birthdays, Jake, Life Lessons, Roller Derby and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Bust a Move! (Or a hip…)

  1. Mel Cisum says:

    Sorry for the video orientation… I’m hunting down a program to edit that. In the meantime, just tilt you head:) Please double click the second video link if you are having troubles. It’s a large file, and YouTube is still processing it. The first click will likely tell you the video is unavailable. The double click will take you to YouTube, where you can watch been careening forward on his skates. Thanks! (Hopefully this will self correct at some point.)

  2. Pingback: To BB, or not to BB? | The Sun and the Moon Brothers

Leave a Reply

