Sweet Lou and the Engineer


It turns out that the visit to the National Train Museum was not the first time that trains had entered into our Halloween holiday fun. In fact, one year, Benjamin dressed for Halloween as a train engineer. That was Halloween of 2008, and it was also the year I found out my oldest kid has good taste in music. Jake surprised me and asked to dress as Lou, a bad@$$ satyr type character from the video game Guitar Hero 3. (A satyr, for those of you not into Greek mythology, is a an animal that is half man, half goat.) Unfortunately, that was also the same year that I was suffering from lack of a real camera again. So, my very best pictures of the event are teeny tiny cellphone pictures which I finally figured out how to get off of my phone. (I think… please though, if you’re family and you happen to have some images on your computer, PLEASE send them my way…) I apologize that they are unimpressive. They appear better on facebook….

Ben’s costume designing took the same stages as the years before. I simply went from thrift store to store, buying pieces of outfits. This costume was rewardingly simple; Essentially, Ben needed only pinstriped overall bibs and a matching engineer cap, and his costume could have been complete. Luckily, I still had his red hanky from the year before, which made a nice touch, and I could slap a warm long sleeved shirt on him to complete the ensemble. Ben added the cutest touch by far, insisting that he needed to ride his small plastic train door to door while we trick or treated.

Jake’s costume proved a lot more complicated. I had learned defeat the year before, and so I was not nearly as ambitious as I had been during my glorious snowman year. I searched the internet for a costume that would fit what he had in mind. To my surprise, as popular as this game was, not only was it impossible to find a costume of Lou, it was next to impossible to find an actual image of his character from that particular game on the web. (Though I could find a few pictures here and there of the same character from other releases of the game.) So, I had to search the web for pieces. I found an online costume shop that had plastic curled “devil’s horns”. Demonic though they looked, they really fit the bill. I also found “hooves” to put on as boot covers. The colors were wrong, so I dyed them. I added to that some clothing I found while thrifting and the little red guitar Jake loved at that time. All put together, I believe it was very convincing. Added bonus, for the many neighbors who apparently do not play GH3, the costume still looked demonic and ghoulish, and in their minds was still very clever. So, it was pretty much a win over all.

That year was a lot of fun. For the first time, they had both picked their own costumes individually. It was fascinating to watch how their costumes defined them at that time. Ben still has his love for trains and things that go. Jake still enjoys video games and is really just emerging into his own musical preferences. And I felt pretty proud, strolling around the block between Sweet Lou and the Little Engineer.

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Halloween, Jake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

