Indian Anna Benjamin and Anakin Robertson


Today is a busy day, with a sleepover pending tonight for both boys… and so I will keep this post short and sweet. As we close in on Halloween, I have one final year of costumes to tell about. Last year, Benjamin won runner up in the Foxz Halloween costume contest, dressed as “Indian Anna Jones” (which translated into English becomes “Indiana Jones”). Ben had decided after watching the Indiana Jones movies that he wanted to go on wild adventures, and specifically, he wanted to wield a whip. Jake had decided to live out his Star Wars adventures, and he wanted to dress as the young Luke Skywalker. Unfortunately, a newer Star Wars movie was popular at the time, and everyone mistook Jake for Anakin, rather than Luke.

I wont bore you with the details of thrifting, as clearly this has emerged as a pattern for building my costumes. I will only enlighten you with the knowledge of the things I caved and had to purchase. Sadly, I could not find a suitable hat for my little Indiana Jones, so, I decided to buy the hat and whip combo offered at our local Halloween shop. Also, I bought Jake a light saber for his costume, though he had a red and green one already, he was convinced he needed blue. (Or something to that nature. I’m actually not really a Star Wars fan so much… by the looks of the pictures, he needed green…) On the upside, all of these items still make for fantastic pretend play to this day.

I dressed the boys in their costumes and took them to a Foxz mixer bout. As I stated earlier, Ben nearly won the costume contest, and I got tons of compliments on his attire throughout the night. Everyone agreed that Jake was having a fun time in his costume as well, and had he been smaller and still in that “very little boy” charming kind of way, he would’ve been a contender for the top prize as also. Luckily, by this particular year, I had secured an actual camera. Luckier yet, the weather was perfect for the boys to a have a little fun in the backyard before we hit the trail trick-or-treating!

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Halloween, Jake, Roller Derby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

