#2- Ben is Thankful for My Computer?


Today, I am thankful for the occasional surprise morning off of work. I got news yesterday that our morning patient had cancelled, allowing for me to stay home a little longer than usual today. This allowed me to be ultraproductive, (or at least to supervise Ryan into being ultraproductive…), getting a tire replaced on my car, looking into replacing the carpet remenant in the living room and VOTING! (Which reminds me, I am also thankful for the ability to vote. Though we take this voting thing for granted in our society, I really believe it is both a “responsiblity” and a “right”, and people worked hard for us to have that option. Women have not always been able to vote. Let’s not forget that. )

Perhaps the best part of not having to go to work this morning, though, was that I got to get Ben off of the bus and eat lunch with him, before taking him to his afternoon preschool. This gave me the perfect oppurtunity to talk to him about Thanksgiving approaching, and to ask him if he was thankful for anything. After a few moments of deep consideration, surprisingly, Ben decided he was thankful for my computer. (Huh, wha?) This surprised me, as Benjamin has never been as interested in computer gaming as his older brother,and many times he has had to remind me that I need to put my laptop down in favor of playing Imaginext with him. So, of course, I had to ask him to explain himself.

Unlike Jake, Ben is just learning to articulate his emotions and ideas, so, I’m still a little bit merky on why he decided he was thankful for my computer. Ultimately, after many prompting questions, I learned that Ben enjoys playing on Thomas the Train websites, Jungle Junction (PlayHouse Disney website) and watching YouTube videos with me about, “anything at all!” He can talk to his grandparents via Skype, and he can send them stories like the one we wrote together with Jake earlier in October. After taking that into consideration, I’d have to agree with Ben. I also enjoy my time with him, expanding his knowledge base with anything that tickles his fancy at the moment. It’s really reassuring as a parent to know that although you don’t have all the answers, you can probably find many of them, or at least some good theories somewhere on the internet. And, if you can’t find what you’re looking for, you can always delay your search to another time and instead watch a good YouTube video. I, too, then am very thankful for my computer and the many ways it allows me to maximize the time I have with my family, both near and far.

So, today, I am very thankful for mornings off, the ability to vote (and all the other American freedoms), my new car tire, my husband who put on my new car tire, lunches with Ben, and my computer. What are you thankful for today?

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #2- Ben is Thankful for My Computer?

  1. john shupe says:

    Sounds like I thankful to read your blog for being thankful! Because those are all good reasons to be thankful!

Leave a Reply

