Day #3- Jake is Thankful for His Little Brother Ben


Today I am thankful for a job that appreciates and supports my efforts to learn all that I can in my profession. (To be honest, in this economy, I am thankful to have a job at all, but particularly one I love doing for a company that is very supportive.) I was allowed, encouraged even, to participate in our local Perinatology Day, where they had speakers talking on all sorts of subjects regarding high risk obstetrics and neonates. Unfortunately, though I enjoyed the conference thoroughly, it did lesson the amount of time I got with my kids, and I absolutely had to go to my derby practice tonight. (And, it was a great practice, leaving me very thankful for derby also.) So, I had very limited time with my kids. Luckily, they were just finishing up bedtime stories when I got home, and so I got a chance to cuddle with them for a few moments before I took a shower and encouraged them to go to sleep. (So, I suppose I am also thankful for kids that will tolerate cuddeling me despite my derby funk.)

Just before I closed the door leaving the boys room, I whispered to Jake that it was his turn, and inquired what he was most thankful for today. His answer? Jake is most thankful for his little brother, Ben. Obviously this would make any mother proud. In particular, I find this intriguing. I can’t understand what it feels like to love a sibling, not having one. And what is most interesting to me about this is that Jake, at his young age, can already appreciate what it means to have a brother around. In my estimation, it might be easier for a 7 year old boy to pick up on the idea that his brother is in his way, breaks his toys, and often gets the attention that used to be devoted directly to him. And yet….

The first time it occurred to me that I might have benefited from a sibling (other than the obvious wishing there was someone to blame my indiscretions on other than myself…) was when I was sitting with my father while he was going through chemotherapy. It occurred to me that one day, my parents will be gone, and I will be an orphan. Now, at that time, I wasn’t married and had no obvious prospects, so I had no way of knowing that I’d always have a family as I do now. I would have imagined that Jake would notice the benefit of a sibling in a similar sobering circumstance. I’m pleased that he knows this already.

In particular, Jake really enjoyed making an awesome train track for his brother today. Jake is thankful for his little brother, Ben. I am thankful for good conferences, good jobs, good practices and a really GOOD kiddo (or two). What are you thankful for today?

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Jake, Roller Derby, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day #3- Jake is Thankful for His Little Brother Ben

  1. Denise says:

    aww, I love these pics of the boys. Although, it makes me realize I don’t really know them at all.

Leave a Reply

