Day #7- My Turn. I am Thankful for Time


There is no time like the present. And conversely, there is no present like that of time.

Today, being that it is my birthday, I feel as though I am entitled to hijack my own blog format, and put my own thoughts out there. I got the best EVER birthday present today. I got the one thing that the person who has everything still wants. I got something you cannot buy in stores, something you cannot hold in your arms, and something that you will ultimately lose track of. And yet, I, like an addict looking for a fix, would go to great lengths to get more of it. Today, I was given the gift of extra time. As everyone affected by Daylight Savings Time will probably experience today, I got an entire hour added to my day that was not there before. (And yes, I do realize I had to sacrifice that hour last spring, but… this blog is about realizing our blessings, so.. I’ll ignore how much I loathe losing that hour.)

I’d like to think I’m a pretty busy person. I work a demanding full time job. I am a wife. I have two children and all of the activity that accompanies that lot in life. I play roller derby, which I often joke amounts to more of a lifestyle than a hobby. I play disc golf when I can. I maintain this blog. I am blessed to have more friends and family than I can count easily. I have a house, and though I do the very bare minimum to maintain and clean it, it can still be very time consuming. I have all the material things I really need, and I have most of the material things I really want. And so, considering that I pretty much have everything I could wish for at this point, the only thing left to desire is the time to enjoy all of my good fortune. And for the first time I can remember, I was given the gift of an extra hour to enjoy my day.

I plan to enjoy this gift of time. I plan to laze around in my pajamas until the mood strikes me to go play. I plan to play video games, and if the boys current state of health permits, I might even go exploring the beautiful city I live in with them. I might even go out to eat with one of my closest friends today. I might make cookies from cake mix, just because I have time to try that. I plan to make the most of this day. I encourage you to do the same. I encourage you to let your dishes sit, to grab your camera, and to surround yourselves with the things you love today. Because when all is said and done, time is all we have until the day we say good bye. (Misquoting Richard Marx, just for you. Which, by the way, was the very first concert I ever got to go to, which was one of my earliest, favorite birthday presents ever. Thanks, Mom!)

So, enough of procrastinating, as today is apparently my day. I don’t want to to let it go to waste. Today, among other things, I am thankful for time. I hope that you enjoy yours today, also.

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day #7- My Turn. I am Thankful for Time

  1. Nate says:

    Definitely digging the extra hour Min! Working on a highlight video for Lane, then going for a walk with the wife, gonna watch the Lions, eat some chili and then it’ll only be 4:30! Hope you have a happy birthday! Love you!!

  2. Lisa says:

    I hope you enjoyed your whole day with the extra hour, Min. I love you, I miss you, and I’m so grateful to have you in my life. Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

