Losing Track of Days…


I apologize for my week long hiatus from writing. With the kids being sick, the washer getting fixed and loads of laundry to catch up, along with the hours at work extended to get ahead before we leave for a conference later this week, I’ve been buried. And, the fact I have not been reminding the kids to count their blessing has really got my attention today.

Jake has had a really rough day. From the moment he woke up, he has been demanding, argumentative and whiny. He managed to have his video game privileges taken away for three days within hours of being awake today. He made his little brother cry countless times for no apparent reason. On a trip to our local Fleet Farm, he even told me there is “nothing in the world he likes.” So, I agreed with him sarcastically, as any good mother would.

“Right Jake. Because those Wii video games over there are just lame. You don’t like anything at all here.”

To which he argued, “But all the toys are lame.”

To which I agreed, “All toys are pretty much lame. I think I’ll be throwing yours away soon to make way for my new floor mats.”

He got so obnoxious arguing with me at one point, he even cracked himself up. Then he got angry at me for making him make fun of himself. I was just not going to win with this kid. He picked dinner tonight, or at least got a say on it, and yet, he refused to eat it. And so, I refused to share my yummy cookies with him. He got to enjoy a wonderful orange instead. (Sadly, this happened to Ben also.) And, I am mean. I am the meanest person ever, and I never give him ANYTHING! To which I agreed, and but despite all that, he still had to take a shower.

By the end of the night, Ryan had finally won him over with a game of table tennis. He was in much better spirits after he read his homework book to me, and read really very well. He had fallen asleep before I could even say good night. Clearly, his actions had been a reaction to a lack of sleep or some other sort of exhaustion.

As Jake was laying nearby, snoring gently, Ben whipers: “Sometime, isn’t my big brother, really k-k-t-kool?” (He is learning different beginning consonant sounds at school, and he likes to try out a few on each word till he gets it right, hence the “t” and the “k”. )

Sometimes when your big brother is not being mad at me, he is very cool.”

“Yeah, sometimes when he is not being mad at me he is really cool, too.”

Ben is thankful for Jacob. I am thankful for both of them. I am also thankful for Excedrin.

 

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Jake, Thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

