Today is Ben Double Favorite Day!!!


Today was Ben’s “double favorite day”. To begin with, Ben has a friend at preschool named John. John’s parents invited our entire family over for an early Thanksgiving dinner. Ben was ecstatic that we got to have a play date himself, for a change. Ben had been waiting since Halloween to play with this particular child, so it was nice that he finally got a chance.

More than that, when we were leaving to head to John’s house, Ben realized that it was snowing and accumulating small snow piles already, (which has been our first identifiable snow day of this winter season.) Ben could not wait to start building snowmen. Though the snow made me feel cold and wet, it made him really excited. Excited enough that Ben loudly declared, “TODAY IS MY DOUBLE FAVORITE DAY! It’s snowing AND I’m going to John’s house!”

On the way to the party, Jake told me about his classroom adopting a family for Christmas. He said his teacher would take donations of money, and then go shopping for the family. Jake was really excited to help out. He even pledged to donate the $5 the tooth fairy left for him under his pillow not long ago. And as I was marveling about how proud of this child I really am, Ryan mutters under his breath, “see, I told you he was your child…” Somehow, the fact Ryan links Jake’s empathy with me was actually taken as a compliment. I’d like to think I’m passing down some of the important family lessons I have learned…

I was really proud of how my kiddos behaved at this dinner party. They were very polite and obedient young men, and I’m not sure I can explain how or why it was important to me on this particular occasion, but suffice it say, I am VERY thankful for my kids today.

I am thankful for friends and family (family’s like John’s…) and thankful for snow, without which, Ben may never have had his first ever “double favorite day”. I am especially thankful for adorable children to blog about.

Also, sneak peak! Come back tomorrow for a special guest blogger. Get an idea of why Thanksgiving in my family means as much as it does.

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Jake, Thanksgiving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today is Ben Double Favorite Day!!!

  1. “Double favorite day.”

    I’m going to start using this expression.

Leave a Reply

