My Angels Have Tarnished Halos….


I often worry that people will read my blog and think that my kids never do anything wrong, or worse yet, think I’m naive enough to believe that myself. So, as much as I dislike days like today, I do think it’s time to share them. This has been a rough day in the Robertson household.

It actually began late last night. Ryan and I were invited to a birthday party, and so we left the kids with a well established babysitter. We’ve always had very good luck with her and the kids always remark about how well she plays with them. Midway through our evening, I got a text from her. This text read: “Ben and Jake refuse to stay in bed. What can I tell them to make them stay?” This worried me, because I’ve had this problem myself in the past. (Click here to see this topic in a previous blog.) I told her when they start to misbehave in that manner, the best idea is usually to lay next to Ben and cuddle him till he settles. That was the last I heard from her.

When we arrived home, you could see on the babysitter’s face that she was fed up, and I could also hear my youngest making noises. The babysitter informed me that at some point, the boys decided that they should try to sneak out of their bedroom by camouflaging themselves in each of their bedroom blankets. The evidence was a massive pile of blankets left littered in the hallway outside their room.

Apparently, at that point, things got out of hand. Ben decided to get into his drawers, and put EVERY pair of clean underwear he had on his body, at the same time. Then, he marched around proudly declaring his many pairs of underwear made him “fat”. As if that wasn’t enough, Jake and Ben at that point decided to take each pair of underwear one by one and launch them at the babysitter as if they were weapons. Classy. I’m surprised she didn’t squish them at that point.

So this morning, I was faced with the task of trying to figure out how to discipline this behavior. I took a look at the mess they had left in their wake (albeit, on top of an already messy house, as my cleaning day is Sunday…) and I decided they were helping me clean. I decreed that they would lose 1 day of video game per underwear I found misplaced while cleaning. All said and done, the boys have lost 18 days of video games. (I had them each put one pair on for the day, explaining why there are only 16 here….)

Even getting dressed would prove to be a chore. I gave Jake a teeshirt to put on, and he instantly started thrashing around because the tag was scratching his neck. I came over to help him, and low and behold… the shirt was on backwards. Apparently, the tag in the FRONT of the shirt was itching the BACK of his neck? Amazing. (Expected behavior of an obviously overtired child.)

Next, I sentenced the boys to work throwing the blankets and underwear (and other various unrelated clothing articles laying around) down the laundry chute. They were well aware that this was part of a punishment, and yet, I caught them horsing around, throwing inappropriate things down the laundry chute. Believe me, we’ve had this conversation before also. (Mentioned in this blog, also…) When I went downstairs to check on the things thrown down the chute, I found one of my favorite shirts and many of their toys in the cat litter. Go figure. Clearly they were taking this very seriously. (Sense the sarcasm.)

As the day has progressed, (and I do not believe we are done yet) we have come to a few conclusions.

1. 18 days without video games.

2. Jake has lost his facebook account.

3. The kids are going to bed early tonight and possibly again tomorrow.

4. The boys will need to be separated at night, no longer allowed to sleep in the same room, though I haven’t worked out the details on this yet.

Let’s hope this is the end of this matter. Just in case, I’ll be calling Santa and informing him there’s a need to stock up on coal.

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Jake, Life Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Angels Have Tarnished Halos….

  1. Pingback: Blizzard Aiden and the Robertson Igloo | The Sun and the Moon Brothers

  2. Pingback: You’ll be SORRY! | The Sun and the Moon Brothers

  3. Pingback: It’s Not Scary, It’s Decay… | The Sun and the Moon Brothers

  4. Pingback: The Haunted Hallows | The Sun and the Moon Brothers

Leave a Reply

