Blizzard Aiden and the Robertson Igloo


The Robertson Igloo

I suppose this could be considered a sequel to the blog I wrote a few days ago. If you’ve been following along, you’ll be happy to know that the second half of the day went much, much better than the first and the night prior.

Stir crazy and pretty much homebound with the snow fall that we received the night prior, the boys (who were grounded from video games for exactly 18 days- 1 day for each pair of underwear they were throwing at the babysitter) were driving Ryan and I bonkers as they bounced off the walls. My amazing husband had an idea. He went to blow out the driveway, and was clever enough to pile all of the snow into the backyard. Being that our backyard might fight in your pocket, we had quite a snowpile to play in.

Ryan got us all excited to go outside (in really REALLY cold wind chills…) and promised us something new. The boys got all distracted from us with the idea of trying to build snow men and have snowballs fights, thought hey were disappointed that the snow which had been dumped on us was not of the packing variety. They still picked up snowy ice chunks and whipped them at Ryan and I as Ryan worked diligently with his shovel.

Jake's mighty snowball

Ben's mini bullet snowballs

Ryan working diligently...

And before I knew it, Ryan had constructed the very first, official, Robertson Igloo. In just a short time, he had created a cavern which held the boys very easily.

And by “boys”, I do mean all of them.

Though all 3 were a tight fit...

And before I knew it, the night sky and the winter chill had beckoned to me and it was time to force my boys inside for the night. And the day ended in a much different and more glorious way than it had began.

 

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

