It’s Not Scary, It’s Decay…


The moment I told Jake what we got in the mail today...

My Benjamin woke me up this morning just to tell me if you leave an apple outside for a long long long long long long time, it will decay. And, eventually, it’ll get slimy. And, it’s seeds will go back into the dirt and then a new apple tree will grow up. And then he continued to explain to me how this process works works with pumpkins and bananas and oranges and cucumbers and ….

About that time, Jake found his way into my bedroom. He decided to interrupt Ben’s lengthy and repetitive story only to proclaim, “BEN! You smell like BUTT! You need to take a bath.”

I promptly scolded Jake for being rude.

“I’m not being rude. I’m being HONEST. There’s a difference, you know…”

And then I told him to stop being a smart mouth and to apologize to his brother.

“Sorry you smell like butt, Ben.”

Really, I would get all bent out of shape if he said this to anyone else, but I’m starting to see them throw verbal jabs at one another in this manner more frequently. It’s some what entertaining, actually, and I think they both get a little enjoyment out of it, oddly. I am hopeful that out of these silly exchanges will come a set of social skills built around being able to ignore needlessly mean comments and at the same time, being able to accept criticism without defense. Even more so, I pray that eventually they will be able to learn to GIVE criticism in a more constructive manner, but we’ll take one step at a time here.

Later in the day, Ben was awarded his half hour of educational computer time (seeing as how he’s still grounded from video games and such…) and I saw the muse for his ramblings this morning. He’s currently in love with PBSKids “Sid the Science Kid”, which further confirms my belief that he will be my science boy. (And I am secretly rejoicing in this, because I love science myself.) But really, I need to be cautious with my assumption here, because Ben was watching a song, and Ben also seems to be evolving into my ever musical kid. Plus, the song was pretty catchy while informative. Judge for yourself.

But the fact remains, regardless of intention, the child is picking up valuable learning information and is being captivated to continue learning. (Soon we’ll do a visible experiment where we examine decomposed produce in my refrigerator, because this happens on a weekly basis and now I can justify why.) I wish to continue the encouragement of his learning.

Additionally, I received a letter today detailing the mouthy (but number-smart) kid’s creativity and divergent thinking test results, and he was accepted into next years Talented and Gifted Program. (OMG, I’m so proud of him!!! From Special Education to TAG in one year. Pretty cool!) The test results were fantastic in how they really broke down Jake’s strengths and encouraged us to better understand his “creative potential”. I have always known that Jake thinks differently than most of his peers (and most adults I’ve known, actually), and it’s nice to see that finally recognized for him. I’m hopeful that he will also continue his pursuit of learning in a way that he finds enjoyable. He’s going to be so excited when I deliver the news to him.

But, bragging aside, it’s important also that we keep these accomplishments in check. And luckily, my kiddos are more than willing to help with this. While I was reading over and deciphering my oldest child’s achievements, my youngest son literally wiped a booger on my arm. He was disappointed to learn that he got a much different response wiping boogers on me than he would’ve got from his brother, to say the least. And, once I dealt with my blooming brain surgeons bodily fluids intrigue, I found out my aspiring rocket scientist tested in the 92th percentile when compared to children his age, and in the 89th percentile compared to children in his grade. Both amazing statistics, worthy of being proud of, but to keep my ego in check, guess what one of his greatest strengths identified was….

“Extending and Breaking Boundaries”.

Ha. Go figure. That’s a strength… Seems I’ve known that for years!

Let’s hope we can learn to channel that strength more creatively now. And, I’m learning to be thankful for the moments of brilliance amongst the clutter of chaos my boys surround me with. After all, they are pretty amazing kids.

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben, Jake, Life Lessons, School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Not Scary, It’s Decay…

  1. Wow, that distinction between honesty and rudeness is pretty sharp. You might ask him to focus on the similarities between discretion and wisdom. : )

    • Mel Cisum says:

      Well said. He read my blog over my shoulder last night when I added a picture to it, and he was immediately remorseful when he realized how uncaring and mean what he said actually sounded. Let’s hope that interaction will discourage further comments.

Leave a Reply

