Dear Jacob,


Dear Jacob,

8 years ago tomorrow, you turned my life upside down. From the moment I looked into your little eyes, I have never doubted my purpose in life. The way that you loved me unconditionally and instinctively, whether or not I was deserving, taught me how to love someone more than I love myself. The way that you struggled to learn each new step of life, and then mastered it in due time has taught me a true sense of patience. The way that you have lead and cared for your brother has taught me everything I know about siblings. The way that you have, (albeit, on rare occasion) become sick or feverish, has taught me what it truly feels like to be frightened. And, the way that you rarely get sick or leave me frightened has taught me to count my many blessings.  The way that you held your cat as she passed taught me a true sense of empathy and despair. The way that rock out your school work and grades effortlessly has taught me a great sense of wonderment. The way that you have had to learn about bullies and other trials in life that I cannot help you with has taught me the truest feeling of helplessness. The way that you chose to stand by your friends as they are bullied, as good friends should, has taught me the importance of being strong through example.

But mostly, the way that you just became the most amazing person naturally has taught me the truest sense of pride. I could not be more proud to be your mother. You have taught me so much.

I love you, Jacob. Happy 8th birthday tomorrow. Thank you for letting me be your mother.

Love,

Mom

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Jake. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Jacob,

  1. Ann Bump says:

    This is unbelievably beautiful…

Leave a Reply

