Happy Birthday, Rev’n Evan!


If there was one person in the whole world I feel like I’d like to know better than I do, it’s my nephew Evan. By the time Evan was born, (7 years ago today), Ryan and I were already living in Wisconsin. And currently, Evan is living in the far southern regions of the United States, furthering the distance to visit. Interestingly, I’m fairly confident that even if Evan lived in my backyard, he would still remain an enigma to me. Though Evan is certainly family, he has always been very guarded with me. Evan prefers the company of a select lucky few that he loves unabashedly. For instance, he sure does favor his Aunt Kathy…

But, here’s what I do know about Evan:

The moment you meet Evan, you realize he is just one of those people with a natural cool factor. You know those people who are just unique and confident in the things they like? Think of the people who were the trend setters in your high school, effortlessly. I suspect that Evan’s classmates will think of him that way one day, if they don’t already. Evan instantly understood that super heroes are cool. And it was obvious to him that no one was cooler than Superman. I know what you’re thinking. Of course all little boys like Superman, but for quite sometime, Evan adored him. He collected all things Superman, including pajamas and action figures… I can think of another profound trend setter that appreciates Superman in this way, and he hit it big for NBC, forever changing television.

courtesy of Google images...

Evan is strikingly handsome. He’s often sporting a longer cut, and he made it cool WAY before Beiber stepped onto the scene. The older he gets, the more I am astounded by how he looks like he belongs in my crew of boys (light hair, skin and eyes) than in Heather’s. (That said because, of course, Matthew and Erin have have beautiful dark hair and eyes, and manage to get a tan just thinking about sunshine.) On more than one occasion I have mistaken Evan for Ben in my own photo albums. I suspect this is yet another reason he’ll be setting trends. Who wouldn’t want to look as good as he looks?

And perhaps the ability that most enables Evan to be effortlessly cool is his ability to please himself. We should all take a page from that book. Evan will not wait around for you to entertain him. In fact, he won’t even allow you to entertain him if he hasn’t requested your assistance. Evan decides what he likes and pursues it. Unlike the majority of kids his age, Evan doesn’t need to wait for a toy to beep, or a person to sing and dance, or a television show to humor him. He is intelligent, creative and independent. Cool, cool, cool.

And, although I don’t think I’ve won my way into Evan’s inner circle just yet, I still appreciate how amazing this kiddo really is from a distance. I am excited to watch him grow and redefine the world around him.

Happy Birthday, Evan! We miss you and love you lots!

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday, Rev’n Evan!

  1. Aunt Kathy says:

    What a wonderful post!!! Aunt Kathy adores him also. Who could be so lucky to have so many unique and amazing children in one (extended) family!!! Love you all!

Leave a Reply

