Park ON ME!


It’s been a while since I’ve written just for the amusement of writing, without a specific birthday or holiday type event in mind. And, I’m on my lunch break, so frankly, I have only time for a short but quick thought. However, this story was just too cute not to pass along, so here goes:

Yesterday, Ben, Jake and I were going outside for a little stroll around the block. Generally, I don’t allow the kids to drink soda unless there’s a special occasion, but Jake had asked really nicely if he could have an orange soda, and I couldn’t see the harm in allowing this, given that we don’t make this a common practice. Of course if you allow one, you allow the other, so both boys took a can of orange soda out with them on our walk.

Jake proudly held his can of soda and earnestly proclaimed to me, “I like drinking things out of cans. It’s what men and teenagers do!” In my efforts not to hurt Jake’s feelings by laughing at him, I was forced to suck the diet Coke which had nearly exited out my nose back down my sinus cavities. Once I cleared my throat, we continued to talk about his idea of self image, and how he wants to one day be as cool as “Bender”, the robot from Futurama. (But very specifically he doesn’t want to be an alcoholic, a robot or anyone that kills anyone. I think he likes that Bender is aloof and casual cool, in the same way I admire the “Steven Hyde” character on that 70’s show.)

Just as I thought I had the situation under control and I wouldn’t laugh inappropriately at my children when they were not intentionally making jokes, Ben finished his orange soda. As you probably, know, orange soda is exceedingly fizzy for some reason, and so Ben let out a belch that my relatives in lower Michigan could probably hear all the way from Wisconsin. He looked very proudly at me, and exclaimed, “PARK ON ME!”

Confused, I gave Ben a quizzical look. I asked him to repeat himself.

“I said, PARK ON ME, which is how fancy people say ‘scuse me.”

At that point I lost it. After a bout of uncontrollable laughter, I let Ben know that he was probably trying to say, “pardon me.” Even Jake got a giggle out of that one, and luckily, Ben was good hearted enough to laugh at himself.

Okay, now back to work!!!

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

