Ben’s Cute Idea


Again… I begin by apologizing for not blogging as consistently as I should be. It turns out that when you’re busy making the memories, it can be hard to find the time to blog about them. But I’m going to make a diligent attempt to create smaller, faster blogs, more often. If you’re tired of haphazardly checking in looking for a new blog, consider just finding the email subscription link in the right column of my blog. Push the “sign me up” button and a message will be sent to you when I blog… 

Tonight, as with most nights, Ben was reluctant to end his very best day ever. (You’ll recall most days with Ben are the “greatest day EVER!”.) And, as usual, just when I thought he had finally fallen sleep, I heard his pitter-patters along the hallway.

“Mom, I heard a noise. Not a dog bark noise, or a train noise, or even a cat noise.”

I hesitated to respond. I was secretly hoping he’d just turn around and head back to his bed.

“Mom, it reoccurs about once every minute or so.”

I must admit, this was a really peculiar speech pattern for Ben, and it sounded awfully sophisticated coming out of his little mouth. At that moment, my ‘Mommy Sense’ got the better of me and I knew I’d be cuddling him to sleep.

I took his hand and walked him back to his room. I laid down on his bed and cuddled him, rubbing his hair gently as he started to whisper…

“Mom, stay here until you hear the noise, okay?”

I reassured him that I would be there to hear his noise. After a moment of silence, he whispered,

“Mom? Put your ear on my ear.”

I honored on his request.

“Mom? Do you hear it?”

I responded,

“No, Ben. Do you hear it?”

Ben thought for a moment and obviously struggled trying to find his wording,

“I don’t hear it in my ears right now, but I can remember and hear it in my head. Do you hear it yet?”

I hesitantly told him I did not. Even if I put my ear very, very, very close to his ears, I could not hear his thoughts.

“Darn! I thought for sure that would work. Oh well, guess you have to cuddle me longer….”

Seems like it worked to me.

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

