An Open Letter to Teachers: A Parent’s Reflection on Recent Events


Dear Educators:

In light of the recent Sandy Hook events, as all parents are, I’m turning the events around in my head trying to make sense of it. It’s horrific and hard to think about. Somehow, I just felt compelled to thank you for all the work you’ve done throughout your careers.  I love and appreciate all of my children’s teachers, and I have no doubt that you love the kids back in the same way that they adore you. As I visualize that horrible day in my head, all I can think is that if my kids were in those rooms, surviving or otherwise, thank God those kids got to see the teachers try to do everything in their power to save them. The children were not alone, but witness to I’m sure to some of the bravest heroic actions that humanity has to offer. In a world that forces us to leave our children in the hands of others, many hours nearly each day, the only thing that makes it less scary to let them go to school (or out of my arm length) is to know that there are teachers like you, ready to receive them.

I just needed to take the opportunity to thank you for that reassurance.

Sincerely,

the Mother of two amazing little boys

About Mindy

I am a mother of two boys, a disc golfer, a former derby girl, a sonographer and an aspiring writer. Sometimes words and events replay in my head endlessly until I let them out. I am verbose. I have lots to say all of the time. If there's something you'd like to know, you'd be better off asking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Open Letter to Teachers: A Parent’s Reflection on Recent Events

  1. Becky C. says:

    Very well said, Mindy! I applaud this article as one of the most heart-felt ones I have seen. Thank you for the support you give to our teachers. I would also like to send a thank you to the first responders that had to deal with that situation. I’m sure their first thought was of their own children. God Bless them all!

    • Mindy says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read my letter, Becky. And I very much agree a large ‘thank you’ to the first responders. It’s so very easy to get caught up in the bad humanity has to offer, but it’s people who put themselves out there in the service of our community that really help us appreciate that overwhelmingly, the spirit of mankind is pure and good. Bless the teachers and the first responders.

  2. I TOTALLY echo your sentiments. I’ve been thinking very similar thoughts lately. I’m not a parent, but I’ve been thinking much about the heroics of our teachers in the wake of the Sandy Hook tragedy. Ironically, I was inspired to write a similar post today, “A Special Thank-You to My Teachers.”

Leave a Reply

